Double, Dual, Two, Duo, Dos

Dual Citizenship will be more of a hair pulling, pain in the butt kind of ordeal. It’s hard enough to deal with American Passports, but dealing with the Mexican Consulate will be a task to say the least. I at least speak Spanish and can understand what they are telling me. How Americans deal with them with the language barrier, I think they would have to hire an attorney to get anything done.

Most friends travel into Mexico as a Tourist and they have so many days they can spend there. I don’t know too much about that and I have not researched it.

There is a FM3 Visa: Basically, saying you’re only staying 5 years or less. If you decide to stay longer you can renew.

There is also a FM2: You plan to stay indefinitely. I could go on this but I wouldn’t be able own property or I wouldn’t be considered for any restaurant, secretarial, washing dishes type jobs. Nationals get first dibs on jobs, and employers have to prove to their government officials why a national could not do the job if I were chosen. Not that I actually want some of those jobs but if hard times are ahead of us, then I will take what I can get. Beggars can’t be choosy.

Those are your choices if you want to live in Mexico. You can’t apply for Dual Citizenship till after you have lived there for at least 2-5 years.

In our case, the only break we have gotten is that J is from Mexico so the kids can qualify for this automatically. Like American passport rules, he would have to provide his Birth Certificate but in addition his ID, they will mail those items back. Please don’t take what I have been told, or what I perceive as the truth, written in stone. It feels that every time I call the consulate I am told differently.

As for my Dual Citizenship, it will be a bit complicated but I want to do mine before I leave, unfortunately, I don’t get in because of marriage. I would also have to prove my parents are from Mexico. My mom was born in Durango, except mom died when I was twelve. I am counting on my aunt, who says there is still family there that can go to their local government office and LOOK for it. Nothing is online and they literally have to search for it.

Why do I need a Dual Citizenship? I want the opportunity to buy land in Mexico, get utilities, internet, a phone, all under my name, & get any job I might be qualified for.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Peace! I mean DUECE!

One thought on “Double, Dual, Two, Duo, Dos

  1. Pingback: Welcome to a new friend: Nancy – ourfeetfollowamor | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Leave a Reply

