I’m the better Parent, He’s the better Parent (repeat)

I have been on a standstill waiting on these passports. J finally got his Mexican ID and is making a trip to the city to get it done at the American Consulate Today. Still I have to wait for all the documentation to reach me so I can send to the Passport Agency.

Only a few more days of school, seven days to be exact, sadly the beginning of summer does not mean goodbye to Houston. Not yet. The good news is that Johnny’s excited about starting Summer ACE (after school program that runs for a month after school is out). They usually get two field trips a week and as he expressed his excitement to me, Manuel whines “I don’t want to go to Summer ACE”.

“Why my love? You will have fun! I wish I could go to Summer ACE so I can go to the zoo, aquarium, and lots of other places.”

“I want to go to Mexico with my daddy. I want to play King Kong.” 

I promised him that as soon as Summer ACE is done, we would go. I pray daily, hourly that I can keep that promise, but there is still so much that has to get done.

I told J, then I thought the phone had disconnected, I yelled, “Babe!? Amores!? HELLO!?” He whispered, “Give me a minute”.

I guess I should stop telling him such stories.

Yesterday, we (My best friend Chrissy and I) decided to take them to Sylvan Beach for some Memorial Day fun.

We haven’t been since March and by this time if J was here they would have already had several trips, with several catches of fish under their belts, and we would have had some very delicious fish fries.

 

Texas Parks and Wildlife - Cleburne State Park

Texas Parks and Wildlife – Cleburne State Park

Johnny asked for his fishing reel and tackle box. When I told Manuel to grab his he said “I don’t want to fish today, I want to fish with my daddy”.

I didn’t tell J that I was taking them until we returned home. He didn’t like me to have them take baths while he was at work, for fear they will drown & I didn’t want to worry him. I think we did pretty good just us girls with the kids. Except for one thing we forgot. Sun block. It wouldn’t have happened on J’s watch.

The boys stayed home Today from school from the pain. Well at least I’m not the one who withdraws them early from school to take them fishing.

 

2 thoughts on “I’m the better Parent, He’s the better Parent (repeat)

Leave a Reply

