The Real World Mexico

El Jardin

El Jardin

Everyone would have thought this is my kind of town. I mean I am a party girl at heart. Well at least I used to be before I had kids. J has really got me used to going to bed at 9 P.M. Every night we now take a stroll to “El Jardin”, also known as “La Plaza”. It’s almost expected we make an appearance every single night. You have to have a good reason not to go from the extended family. And there is a whole lot of family you have to answer to. It’s like a party every night, especially on weekends. We went to the first of many “Quincenera’s”. Our first Saturday here and they have given us the long list to come. Well into September and that’s when the “Fiestas” start. I don’t know the difference but you will be the first to know.

First Break on the way to La Presa

First Break on the way to La Presa

Sunday we were supposed to go to a Baptism in Verdia, J’s birth town but we skipped it. Not my idea, I would have much rather have stuffed my face with free food and beer. The boys wanted to go to the “Presa” which is a man made watering hole up in the mountain. J said it wasn’t far so we decided to pack some water and take a hike. Hmmf. I know his plans were to leave me there for dead. I almost died twice. I wasn’t going to give him the satisfaction. I made it up that hideous mountain. Thank God for that boost the last quarter of a mile. We walked back down, much easier walk.

At el Picarete without the zing for the kids.

At el Picarete without the zing for the kids.

Culture shock understatement: We kid around about it being 12 O’clock somewhere. Here people wake up like zombies, and first thing on their mind is “El Pajarete”. You can have you fresh milk, with coffee, chocolate, and a shot (that’s an understatement) of alcohol. J and I can’t hang with these folks. I don’t know one person from home who could hang…. Okay I know one person, and she lives in Austin, TX. Then we hear them nightly just outside our window as we hit the sack still at it. I told him he better get up for work as we truly living the “Vida Broka”. I doubt he will ever hear Grandma Isabel say “Juan Billetes” again.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It’s safe for you to visit. No danger here… sorry there is one danger. It has taken lives of cows, bunnies, trucks and yes people. The Train. Sadly we are like thirty feet from the tracks.

Meet our pets. Yes two dogs, two chicks, and the newest addition the kitten. Still they want the bunny and the donkey.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “The Real World Mexico

  1. I am so happy for y’all. It looks beautiful out there. Maybe I will visit next summer if I can stay with u and not pay for a hotel lol. Miss ya!!!

      • I told my kids that from the pics it looks like a cute quite town. They both want to go now….lol. my son wants to more for the mexican tacos lol! I miss my friend! =(

Leave a Reply

